Wednesday, March 22, 2023

MLS Preview: Minnesota United FC (0-0-0) at FC Dallas (0-0-0)

After the teams played 120 minutes of a 1-1 draw, it took penalties for FC to beat Minnesota United FC in the first round of the playoffs last season. After the road team won only one of the first 12 meetings between the teams (D2 L10), the 2022 regular season saw both teams win away from home.

Since the start of the 2010 season, FC Dallas has not lost a season opener (W7 D6), which is tied with Real Salt Lake’s current streak for the longest streak in MLS history. The last time Dallas lost a season opener was in 2009, when they lost to the Fire 3-1.

Last season, Minnesota United reached the postseason for the fourth time in a row by scoring 48 points. Along with New York City FC, the Red Bulls, and the Union, the Loons are one of four teams and the only West team to have made the playoffs in each of the last four MLS seasons.

In 2022, FC Dallas’ Jesus Ferreira set a single regular-season club record with 18 goals. He was joined by Paul Arriola (10 goals), making them the first American teammates since Clint Dempsey and Will Bruin for Seattle in 2017 to score at least 20 goals in a single MLS regular season.

Adrian Heath, Minnesota United’s only head coach in MLS history, is in his seventh season with the Loons and has coached 192 regular-season games. In the history of MLS, only two teams retained the same manager for an extended period of time: Dominic Kinnear of Houston (288) and Sigi Schmid of Seattle (250)

NHL Tickets

Related Articles

Jackery Solar Battery Portable Generator

Latest Articles

Sports Gaming Digest Sports Magazine