Friday, March 31, 2023
Wager-Tracker: All Sports Betting Log

Columbus Crew Defeats LIGA MX Champion Cruz Azul To Claim 2021 Campeones Cup

COLUMBUS – Columbus Crew tonight defeated LIGA MX side Deportivo Cruz Azul 2-0 to win the 2021 Campeones Cup, the annual competition between the reigning MLS Cup LIGA MX champions, becoming the first team to post a shutout in the history of the cup. The trophy marks the first piece of international silverware won by the Black & Gold, secured in the first-ever international match held at the Crew’s world-class Field.

Lucas Zelarayan – who won his second Campeones Cup trophy – received GEICO Man of the Match award following his performance in the contest. Notably, Crew Head Coach Caleb Porter became the first American head coach to lift Campeones Cup, as the previous editions were won by head coaches from Brazil (Ricardo Ferretti, 2018) and from the Netherlands (Frank De Boer, 2019).

With tonight’s triumph, the Black & Gold brought its all-time, top-tier silverware total to seven, as the Crew have previously won two MLS Cups (2008, 2020), three Supporters’ Shields (2004, 2008, 2009) and one Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup (2002).

Related Articles

Wager-Tracker: All Sports Betting Log

Latest Articles

2023 Major League Soccer Schedule, Book 1