Saturday, June 25, 2022
Fantasy Guru - Baseball

Red Wings’ Moritz Seider Wins Calder Memorial Trophy

TAMPA, Fla. – Defenseman Moritz Seider of the Detroit Red Wings is the 2021-22 recipient of the Calder Memorial Trophy, presented “to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Detroit’s first Calder Trophy finalist since 2009-10 (Jimmy Howard), Seider is the sixth player in franchise history to win the award and first since Roger Crozier in 1964-65.

Seider was a resounding winner, collecting 170 first-place votes among the 195 ballots cast for 1,853 voting points. Second-place Trevor Zegras of the Anaheim Ducks received 15 first-place votes and was the second choice on 100 others for 1,191 points, followed by Michael Bunting of the Toronto Maple Leafs, who ranked third in voting with 877 points (seven first-place selections).

Seider paced rookie defensemen with 7-43—50, a point total surpassed by only two rookie blueliners over the last 30 years (Quinn Hughes: 8-45—53 in 2019-20 w/ VAN; Vladimir Malakhov: 14-38—52 in 1992-93 w/ NYI) and just two rookie defensemen in Detroit history (Reed Larson: 19-41—60 in 1977-78; Nicklas Lidstrom: 11-49—60 in 1991-92). Seider, the sixth overall selection from the 2019 NHL Draft, led all 2021-22 rookies (forwards and defensemen) in assists (43), power-play assists (19) and power-play points (21), while ranking among the top five in shots on goal (3rd; 187), points (4th; 50) and game-winning goals (t-5th; 4). He played in each of the Red Wings’ 82 contests to also lead all rookies in total time on ice (1,889:22) and minutes per game (23:02) – franchise rookie records in both categories (which have been tracked since 1997-98).

For more on the Calder Trophy, including a list of past winners, click here.

2021-22 Calder Trophy Voting

1.Moritz Seider, DET1853(170-18-3-4-0)
2.Trevor Zegras, ANA1191(15-100-57-18-2)
3.Michael Bunting, TOR877(7-51-65-34-23)
4.Lucas Raymond, DET499(1-10-40-61-36)
5.Jeremy Swayman, BOS210(2-3-14-22-33)
6.Anton Lundell, FLA185(0-4-7-29-35)
7.Tanner Jeannot, NSH153(0-9-4-11-37)
8.Matt Boldy, MIN38(0-0-2-6-10)
9.Cole Caufield, MTL31(0-0-1-6-8)
10.Alexandre Carrier, NSH14(0-0-2-1-1)
t-11.Timothy Liljegren, TOR6(0-0-0-1-3)
 Dawson Mercer, NJD6(0-0-0-1-3)
13.Seth Jarvis, CAR5(0-0-0-1-2)
t-14.Martin Fehervary, WSH1(0-0-0-0-1)
 Alex Nedeljkovic, DET1(0-0-0-0-1)

Points allocation: 10-7-5-3-1 (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

Cool Hockey Custom Jerseys

Related Articles

Fantasy Guru - Baseball

Latest Articles

Press Pass Collectibles