Friday, June 21, 2024
ScoreBig - Get Tickets for Less

CFB Week 2 Conference Notes: SEC Conference


Alabama (1-0, 0-0 SEC) at Texas (1-0) Series: UT leads, 7-1-1
11 a.m. CT • FOX
Austin, Texas • DKR Texas Memorial Stadium (100,119) SiriusXM: 81

South Carolina (1-0, 0-0 SEC) at Arkansas (1-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: UA leads, 13-10
11 a.m. CT • ESPN Last: SC, 48-22 (2017 at Columbia)
Fayetteville, Ark. • Reynolds Razorback Stadium (76,000) SiriusXM: 121/202 – 138/190

Missouri (1-0, 0-0 SEC) at Kansas State (1-0) Series: MIZ leads, 60-32-5
11 a.m. CT • ESPN2
Manhattan, Kan. • Bill Snyder Family Stadium (50,000) SiriusXM: 98/192

Wake Forest (1-0) at Vanderbilt (2-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: VU leads, 10-6
11 a.m. CT • SEC Network
Nashville, Tenn. • FirstBank Stadium (40,350) SiriusXM: 158/191

Appalachian State (0-1) at Texas A&M (1-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: First Meeting
2:30 p.m. CT • ESPN2
Bryan-College Station, Texas • Kyle Field (102,733) SiriusXM: 98/192

Tennessee (1-0, 0-0 SEC) at Pittsburgh (1-0) Series: Pitt leads, 3-0
3:30 p.m. ET • ABC
Pittsburgh, Pa. • Acrisure Stadium (68,400) SiriusXM: 138/190

Samford (1-0) at Georgia (1-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: UGA leads, 1-0
4 p.m. ET • SEC Network
Athens, Ga. • Dooley Field at Sanford Stadium (92,746) SiriusXM: 158/191

Central Arkansas (0-1) at Ole Miss (1-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: Tied, 0-0 (first game vacated)
6 p.m. CT • SECN+, ESPN+
Oxford, Miss. • Vaught-Hemingway Stadium (64,038)) SiriusXM: 98/192

Kentucky (1-0, 0-0 SEC ) at Florida (1-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: UF leads, 53-19
7 p.m. ET • ESPN Last: UK, 20-13 (2021 at Lexington)
Gainesville, Fla. • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (88.548) SiriusXM: 138/190 – 81

San Jose State (1-0) at Auburn (1-0, 0-0 SEC) Series: AU leads, 2-0
6:30 p.m. CT • ESPNU
Auburn, Ala. • Jordan-Hare Stadium (87,451) SiriusXM: 158/191

Southern (1-0) at LSU (0-1, 0-0 SEC) Series: First Meeting
6:30 p.m. CT • SEC Network
Baton Rouge, La. • Tiger Stadium (102,321) SiriusXM: 121/202

Mississippi State (1-0, 0-0 SEC) at Arizona (1-0) Series: First Meeting
10 p.m. CT • FS1
Tucson, Ariz. • Arizona Stadium (57,400) SiriusXM: 138/190

• Fifteen times in the last 15 seasons, a team from the SEC has advanced to the national championship game. The SEC has won 12 of those contests, with two of the losses coming in the game’s final seconds. The winner of the SEC Championship Game has advanced to the National Championship Game all but once since 2006.

• Since Florida in January 2009, five different teams from the SEC have played for and won the national championship. All five have multiple appearances and at least one victory since in the national championship game since 2007.

• The SEC has won three consecutive CFP National Championships, all by three different programs (LSU, Alabama, Georgia).

• Not counting games versus each other, the SEC is 12-3 all-time in College Football Playoff games, playing in seven of the eight CFP Championship Games (winning five of those seven). The SEC is 9-1 in CFP Semifinals.

• Since 2006, the SEC has posted a 29-15 (.659) record in BCS/CFP games, more wins, appearances, and winning percentage than any other A5 conference.

• More than 363 players from Southeastern Conference schools were listed on the initial 53-man NFL rosters to begin the 2021 season. Alabama led the league with 55 former players on NFL rosters, followed by LSU (47), Georgia (36) and Florida (33).

• A total of 27 former SEC players were on active rosters of Super Bowl LVI between the Rams and Bengals.

• The 2022 Super Bowl marked the second time since 2015 and third since 2006 that both starting quarterbacks in the Super Bowl were from the SEC.

• The SEC is 102-62 (.622) in bowl games since 2006, the only FBS league with a .600 or better winning percentage and 30 wins more than the next closest conference.

• The SEC has now won 53 games in the last eight postseasons and has sent no less than eight teams to post-season bowls in each of the last 15 seasons.

• In the eight seasons of the College Football Playoff era, only six programs nationally have been ranked No. 1 in the weekly CFP Top-25 Poll (which begins in late October each year) – four of those six programs (Alabama, Georgia, LSU, Mississippi State) are from the SEC. No team outside the SEC has been ranked No. 1 in the weekly CFP Poll since 2019.

• Nine different SEC teams, including all seven from the SEC Western Division, have made BCS/New Year’s Six bowl game appearances since 2006: Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Texas A&M. Since the formation of the College Football Playoff in 2014, six of the seven schools in the Western Division have advanced to a New Year’s Six bowl.

• With Georgia and Alabama both earning victories in the CFP Semifinals in both 2021 and 2017, the national championship game has featured two SEC teams twice in the last five years and third time since the 2011 season.

• The SEC accounted for 82 of the total NFL Combine invites in 2022 – which accounts for just over 25% of the national total.

• For the first time in league history, the SEC has now produced the Heisman Trophy winner in three consecutive seasons.

• The 2021 SEC Championship attracted over 15 million viewers, the most watched championship game in college football since 2018. Two of the four most viewed games in college football in 2021 were SEC contests, with both drawing over 10 million viewers.

• Eleven of the most 25 viewed college football games in 2021 involved teams from the SEC, including three of the top six and five of the top nine.

Jackery Solar Battery Portable Generator

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Wager-Tracker: All Sports Betting Log