Saturday, June 25, 2022

Avalanche’s Cale Makar Wins James Norris Memorial Trophy

TAMPA, Fla. – Cale Makar of the Colorado Avalanche is the 2021-22 recipient of the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Makar is the first Norris Trophy winner in franchise history, following top-three finishes by Rob Blake (3rd in 2001-02), Ray Bourque (2nd in 2000-01) and Sandis Ozolinsh (3rd in 1996-97). He previously captured won Calder Trophy in his rookie campaign of 2019-20 and finished second in Norris voting last season.

Makar edged Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi by a razor-thin margin in voting points, 1,631-1,606, in the closest Norris Trophy vote since Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson shaded Nashville’s Shea Weber 1,069-1,057 in 2012Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning, the 2017-18 Norris winner, ranked third in balloting for the fourth consecutive year with 940 points.

Makar helped the Avalanche post a franchise-record 119 points by leading NHL defensemen with 28 goals, becoming just the fifth defenseman in the past 30 years to reach that total (Brent Burns, 29 in 2016-17; Mike Green, 31 in 2008-09; Al MacInnis, 28 in 1993-94; and Kevin Hatcher, 34 in 1992-93). He ranked second among blueliners in points (28-58—86) – the goal and point totals setting franchise marks for defensemen – and ranked fifth among all NHLers in plus-minus (+48).

For more on the Norris Trophy, including a list of past winners, click here.

2021-22 Norris Trophy Voting

1.Cale Makar, COL1631(92-98-5-0-0)
2.Roman Josi, NSH1606(98-76-17-3-0)
3.Victor Hedman, TBL940(4-14-142-30-2)
4.Charlie McAvoy, BOS358(1-7-22-55-24)
5.Adam Fox, NYR248(0-0-4-61-45)
6.Aaron Ekblad, FLA74(0-0-2-10-34)
7.Kris Letang, PIT73(0-0-0-18-19)
8.Devon Toews, COL38(0-0-1-5-18)
9.Jaccob Slavin, CAR38(0-0-1-3-24)
10.John Carlson, WSH28(0-0-0-4-16)
11.Morgan Rielly, TOR10(0-0-0-2-4)
12.Miro Heiskanen, DAL9(0-0-1-1-1)
13.Quinn Hughes, VAN9(0-0-0-2-3)
14.MacKenzie Weegar, FLA4(0-0-0-1-1)
t-15.Justin Faulk, STL1(0-0-0-0-1)
 Alex Pietrangelo, VGK1(0-0-0-0-1)
 Jared Spurgeon, MIN1(0-0-0-0-1)
 Christopher Tanev, CGY1(0-0-0-0-1)

Points allocation: 10-7-5-3-1 (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

123 Auto Parts

Related Articles

123 Auto Parts

Latest Articles

Official San Antonio Spurs Fan Shop