Sunday, May 26, 2024
Sports Gaming Monitor

Kings Capture Third Straight Postseason Berth

Four rounds of #NHLStats as the Kings search for their third Stanley Cup win and first since 2014:

* The only remaining Kings that were part of both Stanley Cup-winning teams in franchise history, Anze Kopitar (92 GP), Drew Doughty (90 GP) and Trevor Lewis (79 GP) all can pass Luc Robitaille (94 GP) for the most playoff games in Kings history (Kopitar is now tied for second place with two other skaters and goaltender Jonathan Quick). Kopitar and Doughty sit in the top 10 for postseason goalsassists and points in Kings history.

* After ranking among the top three in the Pacific Division from the second week of the season until mid-January, the Kings slipped into Wild Card territory which led to Jim Hiller being named head coach Feb. 2 and making his NHL debut Feb. 10. He has the fewest games among all current head coaches and looks to become the second head coach in franchise history to take over in-season win the Stanley Cup (details below).

Adrian Kempe has led the Kings in scoring in each of their past two playoff series, tallying six and eight points in the 2022 and 2023 First Round, respectively, against the Oilers each time. Kempe can become the first player since Wayne Gretzky to be the Kings’ outright leader in points in at least three straight series – Gretzky paced the club in each round of the 1993 Stanley Cup Playoffs, leading them to the Final for the first time.

* The Kings will enter their third straight playoff appearance with a different starting goaltender than they had in each of their past two, with Cam Talbot or David Rittich starting most of their games 2023-24. Other teams that recently have gone three or more consecutive years with a different starting goaltender in their playoff opener include the Wild (4 from 2020 to 2023, including Talbot in 2021) and Avalanche (3 from 2021 to 2023).


Overall Postseason Appearances: 33
Consecutive Postseason Appearances: 3
Stanley Cup Wins:  2
Last Stanley Cup Win: 2014

Stanley Cup Final Appearances: 3

Last Stanley Cup Final Appearance: 2014

Download PDFs (all as of March 13, 2024)
Stanley Cup Winners by Roster
Stanley Cup Final Experience by Roster
Conference Finals and Stanley Cup Final Experience by Roster
Most Regular-Season Games Played, Active Players Without a Stanley Cup Win
Most Regular-Season Games Played Before First Stanley Cup Win, NHL History
Most Regular-Season Games Played Without Stanley Cup Win, NHL History
Information on Stanley Cup-Winning Rosters Since 1917-18

More #NHLStats

Anze KopitarDrew Doughty and Trevor Lewis can become the first players to win each of a franchise’s first three Stanley Cups since Martin BrodeurSergei Brylin, Ken Daneyko, Scott Niedermayer and Scott Stevens did so with the Devils (2003, 2000 & 1995).

Jim Hiller can become the eighth head coach in NHL history – and sixth since the turn of the century – to win the Stanley Cup after taking over head coaching duties in-season, following Dick Irvin (1932 TOR), Al MacNeil (1971 MTL), Larry Robinson (2000 NJD), Dan Bylsma (2009 PIT), Darryl Sutter (2012 LAK), Mike Sullivan (2016 PIT) and Craig Berube (2019 STL). The Kings would be the second franchise in NHL history to win a Cup in this fashion more than once, following the Penguins (2009 & 2016).

Fantasy Guru - Baseball

Related Articles

5-Hour Energy

Latest Articles