Monday, May 20, 2024
5-Hour Energy

De La Cruz, Nuneviller Lead Omaha in Pro Volleyball Federation Yearly Awards

OMAHA, Neb. – Omaha Supernovas outside hitter Bethania de la Cruz took home the Best Server Award while Hristina Vuchkova and Brooke Nuneviller made All-League teams as announced Tuesday by the Pro Volleyball Federation.  

Awards were given as voted by the seven head coaches in the league. Each head coach could not vote for themselves or their own players.  

De la Cruz blew away her competition en route to the Best Server award, totaling 32 aces in 24 matches. Her total amount of aces is 11 more than her closest competitors in Orlando’s Wilma Rivera and Adora Anae who both finished the season with 21. De la Cruz’s best serving performance came in the early portions of the season, setting the PVF record for most aces in a single match with six against the Vegas Thrill on Feb. 7 and again versus the Grand Rapids Rise on Feb. 12.  

Nuneviller has been one of the most productive outside hitters in the first season of the PVF. The Omaha team captain recorded a team-high 280 kills on the season for a 3.33 kills per set average, eighth in the league. The Oregon product also excelled from the defensive end, finishing seventh in the PVF with 279 digs which equates to a 3.32 digs per set average. Those totals being second among non-liberos. 

Despite missing out on the Best Middle Blocker award, Vuchkova led the league in total blocks with 70 to secure her spot on the All-League Second Team. The Bulgarian finished two blocks ahead of award winner Kaz Brown who recorded 68 blocks in 20 more sets than Vuchkova. The Supernovas middle blocker averaged 0.85 blocks per set and had seven matches where she recorded five or more blocks. That includes a franchise-record six blocks against the San Diego Mojo on April 2 and the Mojo again on April 20.  

The PVF’s MVP and Coach of the Year will be announced at the Inaugural 2024 Pro Volleyball Federation Awards Gala on Thursday, May 16.  

2024 Pro Volleyball Federation Season Awards

 Outside Hitter of the Year……. Leah Edmond, Atlanta Vibe

Middle Blocker of the Year…….. Kaz Brown, Orlando Valkyries

Setter of the Year………….. Nootsara Tomkom, San Diego Mojo

Libero of the Year …………. Morgan Hentz, Atlanta Vibe

Opposite Hitter of the Year …………. Emiliya Dimitrova, Grand Rapids Rise

Server of the Year… …………. Bethania De La Cruz, Omaha Supernovas

Most Inspirational Player Award …………. Alisha Glass Childress, Vegas Thrill

Rising Star Award …………. Reagan Cooper, Columbus Fury

2024 Pro Volleyball Federation All-League Teams

 First Team

Leah Edmond, Atlanta Vibe, OH

Morgan Hentz, Atlanta Vibe, L

Anna Lazareva, Atlanta Vibe, OPP

Claire Chaussee, Grand Rapids Rise, OH

Emiliya Dimitrova, Grand Rapids Rise, OPP

Bethania De La Cruz, Omaha Supernovas, OH

Brooke Nuneviller, Omaha Supernovas, OH

Second Team

Marlie Monserez, Atlanta Vibe, S

Reagan Cooper, Columbus Fury, OH

Hristina Vuchkova, Omaha Supernovas, MB

Kaz Brown, Orlando Valkyries, MB

Ronika Stone, San Diego Mojo, MB

Nootsara Tomkom, San Diego Mojo, S

Alisha Glass Childress, Vegas Thrill, S

Omaha will take on San Diego in the Pro Volleyball Federation Championship Semifinals on Wednesday, May 15 at 8:30 p.m. CDT at the CHI Health Center. CBS Sports Network will televise the match with fans also being able to listen to all the action on the Supernovas Radio Network led by its flagship station 93.7 The Ticket. The winner will face the victor between the No. 1 seed Atlanta Vibe and No. 4 seed Grand Rapids at 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 18 for the PVF Championship. 

Fantasy Guru - Baseball

Related Articles

Sports Gaming Digest Sports Magazine

Latest Articles

ScoreBig - Get Tickets for Less