Sunday, September 25, 2022
5-Hour Energy

Winter victorious in US Poker Open’s $25,000 No-Limit Hold’em

It took every single hand if the 2022 U.S. Poker Open for Sean Winter to win the series championship, but he did it. After failing to cash in the first 10 events of the series, Winter stormed to the top of the mountain by winning the final two events. After he won Event #11: $25,000 No-Limit Hold’em for $440,000, Winter reached the final table of Event #12: $50,000 No-Limit Hold’em. Winter needed a victory to rip the Golden Eagle Trophy from Tamon Nakamura’s hands, and he pulled it off, defeating Nakamura’s good friend, Masashi Oya, in heads-up play to win the finale for $756,000 and become 2022 U.S. Poker Open champion.

“It means a lot,” Winter told PokerGO’s Jeff Platt after the victory. “I’m kind of speechless right now. I was just getting destroyed all series, obviously, and I was kind of grateful for that because it motivates me to do well and the buy-ins went up. I kind of just got lucky in that regard and good winning when I need to.”

Winter had previously finished runner-up in the U.S. Poker Open in each of the last two editions the series was held. Both times, David Peters won the series championship and Winter finished second. Not only did Winter take home the 60-pound Golden Eagle Trophy, but he was awarded the series’ $50,000 Championship Bonus. All told, Winter won $1,246,000 at the 2022 U.S. Poker Open.

2022 U.S. Poker Open Event #12 Results

1st: Sean Winter – $756,000
2nd: Masashi Oya – $504,000
3rd: Zhuang Ruan – $336,000
4th: Vikenty Shegal – $231,000
5th: Shannon Shorr – $168,000
6th: Dan Smith – $105,000

Winning 264 points in Event #11 and 454 points in Event #12 allowed Sean Winter to tally a total of 718 points for the U.S. Poker Open leaderboard. Those points were enough to win him the series title, $50,000 Championship Bonus, and Golden Eagle Trophy. As previously outlined, Winter could only top the leaderboard with a win in the final event, and he did just that.

2022 U.S. Poker Open Final Leaderboard

1st: Sean Winter – 718 points
2nd: Tamon Nakamura – 588 points
3rd: Alex Foxen – 488 points
4th: Chino Rheem – 481 points
5th: Phil Hellmuth – 464 points
6th: Shannon Shorr – 441 points
7th: Erik Seidel – 428 points
8th: Dylan Weisman – 414 points
9th: Masashi Oya – 414 points
10th: Adam Hendrix – 356 points

Al Rossi Sports Investments

Related Articles

Sports Gaming Talk

Latest Articles

Press Pass Collectibles